Create a thumbnail from PDF file

Hi,

It’s possible to create a thumbnail from a PDF file? I can do it for images but when I run the same code for PDF files I get an error.

PS: I know I’ve been asking a lot of questions that maybe are easy, but I’m new to Ruby and I still don’t quite understand how things work here. I’m sorry!

Yes, you just have to specify which page you’re converting in loader options:

ImageProcessing::MiniMagick
  .source(pdf_file)
  .loader(page: 0) # specify page number
  .resize_to_limit!(...)

If you have a multi-page PDF, see this wiki page.

I know I’ve been asking a lot of questions that maybe are easy, but I’m new to Ruby and I still don’t quite understand how things work here.

That’s ok :slightly_smiling_face:

Doesn’t work for me, this is my code:

Attacher.derivatives_processor do |original|
    pdf_thumbnail = ImageProcessing::MiniMagick
      .source(original.path)
      .loader(page: 0) # specify page number
      .resize_to_limit!(220, 220)

{ thumb: pdf_thumbnail, }
end

This is the error:

`convert /tmp/shrine20191115-17045-1glgy43.pdf[0] -auto-orient -resize 220x220> -sharpen 0x1 
/tmp/image_processing20191115-17045-1u8g8t7.pdf` failed with error: convert-im6.q16: not 
authorized `/tmp/shrine20191115-17045-1glgy43.pdf' @ error/constitute.c/ReadImage/412. convert- 
im6.q16: no images defined `/tmp/image_processing20191115-17045-1u8g8t7.pdf' @ 
error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/3258.

In this case it’s useful to read the error message. The “not authorized” part indicates to me that the ImageMagick process doesn’t have permissions to your /tmp directory. But I’m not sure, I’d recommend googling what it means.

Actually, I see it’s also complaining about the output path. I think you need to convert the result to an actual image format, e.g. try adding .convert(“jpeg”) to the pipeline.

Hi Jean, Hi Janko,

The below works perfectly fine on my end :

Attacher.derivatives_processor do |original|